Skip to content

What I Want to be When I Grow Up

October 14, 2009
tags: ,

Foreign Service Officer (Consular tract)
Why I’d be good at this: Analytical and people-oriented. The “international studies” field is an interdisciplinary one that covers many of the things I’m interested in intellectually – history, culture, diplomacy. I had fun taking the test for it.
Why I want to do this: The State Department would give me a chance to use my leadership skills while still allowing me the direction of an established career. The adventure of meeting new people and experiencing new things.
Why I don’t want to do this: The people in my life right now are really important to me. I want a family. I want to own a house. I want enough stability to be able to do that and spending the next decade or so flitting around the globe in a manner out of my control possibly closes the door on that.

Event Planner
Why I’d be good at this: I’m very organized, an effective planner, and good at networking. I really enjoy researching and get a kick out of etiquette and culture. I love being behind the scenes and am generally calm during times of high stress. I love doing something that I know will make someone (or multiple someones) happy and if I’m doing my job right, I’d be doing that a lot.
Why I want to do this: Offers the adventure of meeting new people and traveling while still allows me to be use DC as my home base. Utilizes my organization and planning skills in a proactive, creative way. I have a background in art, composition, and graphic design – while I’m not an artist, those are all skills that I miss using and would use in this field. Would possible be in the form of a small business owner (eventually) and that’s something else I’ve always thought that I’d be good at.
Why I don’t want to do this: I’d have to be “on” all the time (on = putting my best face forward all the time). Dealing with people who have impossible visions for events (e.g., “I want to have a fairy tale wedding at this venue for $15,000 or less.” “But the venue costs $10,000.” “Make it happen.” “…”)

Lawyer
Why I’d be good at this: I have an analytical mind, I love research and I’ve got more than solid writing skills. I think like a lawyer in a lot of ways. I enjoy working on briefs.
Why I want to do this: The career is very flexible and usually has a solid financial result.
Why I don’t want to do this: Dealing with lawyers for the rest of my life. Going to law school.

Any thoughts on the above?

(Is it cocky of me to feel like I would be good at anything I set my mind to? That really, it’s just a matter of figuring out what I want to set my mind to?)

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 14, 2009 4:52 pm

    Is it cocky of me to feel like I would be good at anything I set my mind to?

    You are an Aries, so duh.

    Duh both to you would be good at anything you set your mind to, and duh to being cocky.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

